Comparisons · Checked October 20, 2026
Abutic vs Popl
Popl sells digital business card and lead capture software, mostly on subscription. Abutic makes custom engraved metal cards you buy once, with lead capture built in. Here is how they compare, with Popl’s numbers taken from public sources.
The short answer
Abutic gives you a custom laser-engraved metal card from $29.99, one-time, with no subscription required, plus a card and badge scanner that saves new contacts straight to your Connections.
Side by side
Popl details come from its public pages and listings, checked October 20, 2026. Prices change, so check Popl’s site before you buy.
| Feature | Abutic | Popl |
|---|---|---|
| Metal card price | Steel $29.99, front + back $35. Copper $39.99 / $44.99. One-time. | Popl’s site focuses on software and did not list card prices when we checked. Resellers list the carbon-steel Metal Popl Card at about $44.99. |
| Custom design | Your logo, name and details laser engraved, from a design you make or we make. Free mockup to approve first. | Not clear from Popl’s public pages; ask Popl about custom engraving. |
| Subscription | Not required. The card and a basic profile work free. Abutic+ is optional at $6.99/month. | Free plan available. Pro is $7.99/month ($6.49/month billed yearly); Pro+ and team plans cost more, teams by quote. |
| First-year cost, engraved metal card | $29.99 (steel, no subscription) | About $44.99 for the card; $76.99+ more per year if you add Pro. |
| Team pricing | $25 per steel card at 5 or more; quotes from 10+ cards. | Custom quotes for teams and events. |
| Speed | Mockup within 24 hours. US delivery 7–10 business days after approval, or 4–5 expedited (+$5). | Not stated on the pages we checked. |
| Shipping | Free in the US. Flat $19 to Canada and other countries. | Not stated on the pages we checked. |
| Where the tap goes | Your Abutic profile or any URL, changeable anytime. The chip is not locked to Abutic. | Your Popl profile. |
| Lead capture | Scan any business card or event badge into your Connections, with no duplicates, notes on where you met and follow-up reminders. Visitors can also send you their details from your profile. CSV export to any CRM with Abutic+. 2 free scans on every account, unlimited with Abutic+. | Badge scanning and CRM integrations, mainly on paid and team plans. |
| Where it’s made | Engraved and hand-inspected in California, USA. | Not stated. |
| Guarantee | 30-day money-back guarantee, 90-day connection guarantee (no new connections, full refund), lifetime warranty against defects and free replacement of lost cards for life. | Not stated on the pages we checked. |
Why people choose Abutic
- A custom laser-engraved metal card with your own design, from $29.99.
- No subscription needed for the card or a basic profile.
- Scan business cards and event badges into Connections, and export them to your CRM.
- A free mockup within 24 hours; nothing is engraved until you approve it.
Questions, answered
Is Abutic cheaper than Popl?
For a single engraved metal card, usually yes. Abutic steel cards are $29.99 one-time with no subscription. Popl’s metal card has been listed at about $44.99, and Popl’s paid features start at $7.99/month.
Do I need a subscription for either?
No for Abutic: the card and a basic profile work free, and Abutic+ ($6.99/month) is optional. Popl has a free plan; Pro features cost $7.99/month.
Can Abutic capture leads at trade shows?
Yes. Hand people your card to tap, and scan their business cards or event badges with your phone. Abutic reads the name, title, company, email and phone into your Connections, skips duplicates, and lets you note where you met and set a follow-up reminder. Export everything to your CRM as a CSV with Abutic+.
Can I switch from Popl to Abutic?
Yes. An Abutic card can point to any link, including an existing profile page, so you can keep whatever page you already use.
Sources
- Popl pricing page (team plans by quote)
- Popl individual plan prices (Vendelux, Sept 2026)
- Metal Popl Card listing ($44.99)
- Abutic prices and policies: metal NFC card guide and help center.
Popl is a trademark of its owner. Abutic is not affiliated with Popl. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we’ll fix it.
Other comparisons: Abutic vs V1CE · Abutic vs Linq
Try Abutic
Engraved metal cards from $29.99, free US shipping, a free mockup before anything is engraved, and no subscription.